الحرم الطبي
نوفمبر 21, 2017
المبانـي الإدارية
نوفمبر 26, 2017

المباني الأكاديمية المساندة

  • نسبة الإنجاز39%

المقاولون

شاينا ستيت كونستراكشن انجنيرينغ كوربورشن ذ.م.م و شركة الخرافي ناشيونال

زيارة الموقع

الاستشاريين

دار الهندسة للتصميم والاستشارات الفنية (شاعر ومشاركوه) بالتحالف مع بركنز + ويل انترناشيونال

زيارة الموقع

التصميم:

صور الموقع الحالي:

يضم مشروع المباني الأكاديمية المساندة المباني الآتية:

• سكن الطلاب الذكور
• سكن الطلاب الإناث
• نادي الموظفين الإداريين
• المدرسة النموذجية / الحضانة
• الوحدة الأكاديمية
• إدارة النفايات رقم (1) للنفايات العامة
• إدارة النفايات رقم (2) للنفايات الخطرة
• الإدارة والمخازن
• التأثيث والإسكان
• مستودع الخدمات (مستودع الأغذية، مستودع البيع بالتجزئة، مستودع البريد)
• أعمال التنفيذ والصيانة
• المطبعة
• ساحة الخدمات
• سكن أعضاء هيئة التدريس
• نادي أعضاء هيئة التدريس
• مركز الخدمات
• سكن الضيافة

سكن الذكور وسكن الاناث

1) الموقع:

يشغل سكن الذكور القسيمة رقم (601)، بينما يشغل سكن الإناث القسيمة رقم (602) خارج الطريق الدائري بالناحية الشرقية على مساحة إجمالية 230,337 متراً مربعاً.

2) عام:

تتيح مباني سكن الذكور وسكن الإناث 526 وحدة سكنية، منها 304 وحدة للذكور و 222 وحدة للإناث، ومناطق تناول الطعام، غرف المعيشة، غرف الدراسة، مغسلة، غرف متعددة الاستعمالات، غرف الألعاب، المطبخ الرئيسي ومناطق إدارية. وتتكون المباني من أربعة طوابق علوية وطابق سفلي مرتفع للخدمات الميكانيكية مع موقف سطحي لسيارات الموظفين والطلاب.

تبلغ مساحة مباني سكن الذكور حوالي 45,461 متراً مربعاً، بينما تبلغ 34,003 لسكن الإناث.

3) تصميم وشكل المبنى:

يشمل هذا المشروع خمسة مباني مستطيلة الشكل ومنفصلة لسكن الإناث؛ هذه المباني موزعة بطول شرفة مرتفعة تسمى القاعدة (Plinth) وهي مصنعة من الخشب المعاد تدويره. تتيح هذه الشرفة مكان لاستقبال الطلاب كما تمنح المشروع طابع خاص. أسفل هذه الشرفة يوجد منطقة وصول وموقف السيارات.

يكسو واجهة المبنى الحجر الجيري والخشب، كما يوجد أشجار النخيل بالطابق الأرضي الممتدة عبر الشرفة إلى الطابق لأول لتوفير الظلال لمنطقة الجلوس.


نادي الموظفين الإداريين:

1) الموقع:

يشغل نادي الموظفين الإداريين القسيمة رقم (225) الواقعة خارج الطريق الدائري بالناحية الشرقية، بمساحة إجمالية تبلغ 7,845 متراً مربعاً.

2) عام:

هذا النادي عبارة عن مكان للاسترخاء وللتجمع لأجل التواصل وللممارسة أنشطة اللياقة البدينة، حيث يمكن لموظفي الإدارة ولعائلاتهم الاسترخاء والاستمتاع بالأنشطة المتنوعة مثل مشاهدة الأفلام، أو المحاضرات بالمسرح، أو سباحة في حوض السابحة الأوليمبي، تناول الطعام في الكافيتريا / غرفة تناول الطعام أو ممارسة تمارين اللياقة في مناطق اللياقة المنفصلة للذكور والإناث. ويضم النادي مبنى واحد أسفل الشرفة (Plinth) فضلاً عن منطقة منفصلة مزدوجة الارتفاع بالطابق الأرضي لتمارين اليوجا / تمارين اللياقة بالطابق الأول.

تبلغ إجمالي مساحة المباني بنادي الموظفين الإداريين حوالي 15,577 متراً مربعاً.

3) تصميم وشكل المبنى:

يتميز مبنى نادي موظفي الإدارة بشكله المستطيل الذي يميزه وجود شرفة مرتفعة تسمى "القاعدة" فضلاً عن أشجار النخيل. وتعمل هذه الشرفة على تيسير حركة الزوار وسياراتهم، كما يتميز بوجود الحدائق والنباتات، وقد استخدم في تنفيذها الخشب المعاد تدويره.

يكسو الواجهة الخارجية للمبنى الحجر الجيري والديكورات الخشبية حول النوافذ، وهي المواد من شأنها تعزيز الطابع الفريد للنادي.


المدرسة النموذجية والحضانة:

1) الموقع:

تشغل المدرس النموذجية القسيمة رقم (603) الواقعة خارج الطريق الدائري بالناحية الشرقية، بمساحة إجمالية تبلغ 100,200 متر مربع.

2) عام:

تتيح المدرسة النموذجية الدراسة من الروضة وحتى الصف الثاني عشر، هذه المدرسة سوف تخدم الجامعة وتتيح للطلاب بمجموعة متنوعة ومتكاملة من المنشآت الحديثة حيث القاعات الدراسية المجهزة بأحدث التقنيات وبالأماكن المساندة. فضلاً عن ذلك، هذه المدرسة من شأنها أن تتيح لطلاب كلية التربية المكان المثالي لاستكشاف طرق التدريس وإتاحة التدريب العملي لطلاب كلية التربية. ويضم المبنى الطابق لأول والثاني أعلى الطابق الأرضي فضلاً عن طابق سفلي مرتفع للخدمات. يبلغ العدد المتوقع للطلاب 675 من الذكور والإناث فضلاً عن 112 للحضانة

تبلغ مساحة المباني بما في ذلك الحضانة حوالي 54,041 متراً مربعاً.

3) تصميم وشكل المبنى:

تتميز المدرس النموذجية بوجود نافورة تفصل بين أماكن الطلاب الذكور والإناث، وبالمدرسة يوجد سبعة مداخل خاصة وأماكن وصول السيارات، حيث يوجد مدخل / مخرج خاص بكل صف دراسي للذكور والإناث، فضلاً عن ملعب خاص ومنطقة خاصة لوصول السيارات. وتتوزع الأماكن التعليمية حول ساحات مركزية مظللة تتيح نفاذ الضوء إلى الممرات والأماكن الداخلية، بما يحفظ الخصوصية ويتيح الفصل بين الذكور والإناث.

سوف تستخدم الخرسانة الجاهزة بدلاً من الخرسانة العادية في تنفيذ واجهة المبنى، حيث سيتم استخدام الخرسانة الملونة لتحقيق نفس تأثير الأحجار الرسوبية القديمة ، وسوف يتم عمل النوافذ في فتحات غائرة في الجدار لتوفير أقصى حماية من أشعة الشمس الحارة.


الوحدات الأكاديمية:

1) الموقع:

يشغل مبنى الوحدات الأكاديمية القسيمة رقم (805) الواقعة خارج الطريق الدائري بالناحية الجنوبية على مساحة إجمالية تبلغ 17,644 متراً مربعاً.

2) عام:

يتوافر بهذا المبنى مكاتب الأقسام المختلفة: جريدة آفاق (جريد جامعة الكويت)، وحدات البرامج الأكاديمية (وحدات بحثية لوضع الاستراتيجيات التعليمية)، مجلس النشر العلمي (لإدارة تطوير وتوزيع دوريات جامعة الكويت الحالية)، مركز دراسات الخليج (منشأة بحثية) لتوثيق القضايا الاجتماعية والسياسية والثقافية، مركز الدراسات الاستراتيجية والمستقبلية (مركز جامعة الكويت لبحث التوجهات المستقبلية للأسواق العالمية والتنبؤ بها). ويضم المبنى خمسة طوابق علوية مع طابق سفلي للمخازن وللخدمات الميكانيكية.

تبلغ المساحة الإجمالي للمبنى 10,011 متر مربع.

3) تصميم وشكل المبنى:

يسمى هذا المبنى "جوهرة الحرم الجامعي" نظراً لموقعه بنهاية محور الدخول للحرم الجامعي وإطلالاته المميزة على الحرم الجامعي. ويأخذ المبنى شكل المربع بممر داخلي كبير مؤدي إلى السطح، بما يكفل التواصل بين البرامج المختلفة بالمبنى.

تتكون الواجهة الخارجية للمبنى من ألواح الخرسانة المسلحة بالألياف الزجاجية التي تأخذ أشكال هندسية مع نظام للحماية من أشعة الشمس إلى الأمام من ألواح معدنية ونوافذ غائرة في الحائط بمنطقة المكاتب، مع جدار زجاجي في الممر الرئيسي المجاور للساحة الخارجية.


إدارة النفايات # (1) وإدارة النفايات # (2)

1) الموقع:

تشغل منشآت إدارة النفايات # (1) القسيمتين رقم (803 و 804)، بينما تشغل إدارة النفايات # (2) القسيمة رقم (810) الواقعى خارج الطريق الدائري بالناحية الجنوبية، بمساحة إجمالية تبلغ 80,183 متراً مربعاً.

2) عام:

يوجد بالحرم الجامعي الجديد منشأتين لفرز النفايات، هما بمثابة نقاط لتجميع كافة نفايات الحرم الجامعي لجامعة الكويت. تتضمن إدارة النفايات رقم # (1) كافة النفايات العادية مثل نفايات الأطعمة ونفايات الزراعة التجميلية بمشتل الحرم الجامعي. أما النفايات رقم # (2) ففيها يتم الفرز والتخلص من الآمن للنفايات الخطرة والحيوية التي يتم جمعها من الحرم الجامعي باستثناء الحرم الطبي. يتكون مبنى إدارة النفايات رقم # (1) من طابق أرضي وطابق منخفض، بينما إدارة النفايات رقم # (2) يتكون مبناها من طابق أرضي فقط.

تبلغ المساحة الإجمالية لإدارة النفايات رقم # (1) حوالي 5,999 متراً مربعاً، أما إدارة النفايات رقم # (2) تبلغ مساحة مبانيها حوالي 1,283 متراً مربعاً.

3) تصميم وشكل المبنى:

يتضمن المبنى قطعاً عديدة موزعة بطريقة متموجة على شكل سلسل مع سطح متموج ونوافذ غائرة موزعة على مستويات مختلفة من الواجهة. وتتكون الواجهة الخارجية من الخرسانة الجاهزة فاتحة اللون بها خطوط باتجاه الحرم الجامعي ولوح معدنية باتجاه نحو منطقة التحميل والتفريغ (بالجهة بالجنوبية).


الإدارة والمخازن، التأثيث والإسكان، التنفيذ والصيانة، مستودع البيع بالتجزئة، مستودع الطعام، مستودع البريد، ساحة الخدمات، المطبعة:

1) الموقع:

تشغل الإدارة والمخازن، التأثيث والإسكان، التنفيذ والصيانة، مستودع البيع بالتجزئة، مستودع الطعام، مستودع البريد، ساحة الخدمات، المطبعة، مع إدارة المخلفات رقم (1 و 2) القسايم رقم (803، 804، 807، 808، 809، 810)الواقعة خارج الطريق الدائري بالناحية الجنوبية بمساحة إجمالية تبلغ 81,193 متراً مربعاً.

2) عام:

الإدارة والمخازن: تتيح تجهيز وتتبع وتوزيع المستلزمات اليومية بالحرم الجامعي لجامعة الكويت، أما المخازن العمومية فتتيح مكاناً مركزياً لإدارة وتخزين الأشياء.

التأثيث والإسكان: تتيح إصلاح وتجديد وإدارة الأثاث بالحرم الجامعي لجامعة الكويت.

التنفيذ والصيانة: تتيح أعمال الإصلاح والصيانة لمباني الحرم الجامعي وللنظم الميكانيكية.

مستودع البيع بالتجزئة: تتوافر بها المستلزمات التجارية اللازمة لجامعة الكويت، حيث تتيح مكانا مركزياً لتسليم وفرز الأصناف التجارية اللازمة لمتاجر الجامعة والمكتبات، ونقاط البيع.

مستودع الطعام: الغرض منه توفير مستلزمات الكافيتريا ونقاط البيع في مكان مركزي يتم به تسليم وفرز الأصناف الغذائية اللازمة للحرم الجامعي.

مستودع البريد: يتم فيه فرز وتجهيز وتوزيع البريد الوارد والصادر من الحرم الجامعي حيث يتم تحمل المسئولية عن البريد الصادر والورد جميعاً، ويستثنى من ذلك البريد الخاص بالطلاب.

ساحة الخدمات: يوجد بها موقف لأسطول المركبات الخاص بجامعة الكويت.

المطبعة: تتولى هذه المنشأة نشر كافة المواد الترويجية الخاصة بجامعة الكويت، وكذلك نشر كافة دوريات مجلس النشر العلمي للجامعة. وتقع هذه المنشأة بالقرب من مبنى الوحدات الأكاديمية لتكون مركز للتدريب العملي لطلبة الإعلام.

يتكون المبنى من طابق أرضي وميزانين للمكاتب الإدارية، وتبلغ مساحة المباني حوالي 53,686 متراً مربعاً.


سكن أعضاء هيئة التدريس:

1) الموقع:

يشغل سكن أعضاء هيئة التدريس القسيمة رقم (606) إلى جهة الغرب من الحرم الطبي بمساحة إجمالية تبلغ 189,478 متراً مربعاً.

2) عام:

سوف تطور جامعة الكويت مجمع سكني جديد لسكن أعضاء هيئة التدريس وأسرهم والعمالة المنزلية اللازمة، تتوافر به شقق من غرفتين أو ثلاثة أو أربعة غرف. ويضم هذا المجمع 620 شقة موزعة على 29 مبنى تتراوح بين خمسة إلى سبعة طوابق، مع طابق سفلي مرتفع للخدمات.

تبلغ مساحة المباني حوالي 253,758 متراً مربعاً.

3) تصميم وشكل المبنى:

ويحظى كل مبنى سكني بساحة فريدة يغلب عليها الطابع الإسلامي لتجمع المقيمين بالمباني السكنية. ويعد المتنزه المركزي الرئيسي الواقع في قلب هذه المنطقة هو أكبر منطقة مفتوحة. وتتكون الشقة من وحدة مزدوجة بها غرفة معيشة ومطبخ وغرفة خدمات في الطابق السفلي، أما في الطابق العلوي فتوجد غرف النوم.

تكسو الواجهة من الخارج ألواح الخرسانة المسلحة بالألياف الزجاجية مع سور زجاجية يحيطه إطار خشبي بالشرفات، فضلاً عن الحوائط الزجاجية بالمداخل الرئيسية وحوائط التراكوتا في الدرج الخارجي المواجه للساحة، بالإضافة إلى المظلات القماشية التي تعلو شرفات السطح.


نادي أعضاء هيئة التدريس:

1) الموقع:

يشغل نادي أعضاء هيئة التدريس القسيمة رقم (606) بالجهة الغربية من الحرم الطبي بمساحة إجمالية تبلغ 189,478 متراً مربعاً.

2) عام:

يتمثل الغرض من نادي أعضاء هيئة التدريس في إتاحة مجموعة متكاملة من مرافق خدمة أعضاء هيئة التدريس وأسرهم، حيث يتيح ملتقى اجتماعي وثقافي في وسط سكن أعضاء هيئة التدريس، كما تتوافر به أيضاًَ أماكن للأنشطة الترفيهية الخارجية والداخلية، بما في ذلك أماكن تناول الطعام، والغرف متعددة الأغراض، غرف اللياقة، ملاعب التنس، أحواض السباحة، ملاعب كرة السلة، والزراعة التجميلية. ويضم المبنى طابق أرضي منخفض وطابقين علويين.

تبلغ مساحة المباني حوالي 13,504 متر مربع.

تصميم وشكل المبنى:

بفضل موقعه على أطراف الناحية الغربية للمجمع السكني الخاص بأعضاء هيئة التدريس، يشكل نادي أعضاء هيئة التدريس ملتقى للأعضاء حيث مزاولة الأنشطة الرياضية والاجتماعية. وتتميز الواجهة باستخدام ألواح الخرسانة الجاهزة هندسية المطعمة بالحجر الجيري والزخارف المضيئة في الفتحات الموجودة بالألواح المذكورة، فضلاً عن الحواجز الوقاية من أشعة الشمس المزخرفة والمصنعة الخرسانة المسلحة بالألياف الزجاجية، بالإضافة إلى الجدران الزجاجية بالمداخل الرئيسية والمظلات القماشية المستخدمة لحجب أشعة الشمس في منطقة حمامات السباحة.


جمعية أعضاء هيئة التدريس:

1) الموقع:

تشغل جمعية هيئة التدريس القسيمة رقم (606) بالجهة الغربية من الحرم الطبي على مساحة إجمالية تبلغ 189,478 متراً مربعاً.

2) عام:

تضم جمعية أعضاء هيئة التدريس المقر الدائم لممثلي أعضاء هيئة التدريس ولجانهم العاملة، حيث توجد تجهيزات مكتبية جديدة فضلاً عن غرف الاجتماعات، والديوانية، وغرف الاستقبال وغرف تناول الطعام. ويتكون المبنى من ثلاثة طوابق علوية وطباق سفلي مرتفع للخد\مات الميكانيكية.

. تبلغ مساحة المباني الإجمالية حوالي 3,770 متراً مربعاً.

3) تصميم وشكل المبنى:

. تبلغ مساحة المباني الإجمالية حوالي 3,770 متراً مربعاً.

يشكل كل من نادي أعضاء هيئة التدريس وجمعية أعضاء هيئة التدريس وسكن الضيافة مجمعاً متكاملاً يقع على أطرف الجهة الغربية من القسيمة رقم (606). وكما هو الحال مع سكن الضيافة، فإن منطقة واحدة تضم البرنامج بأكمله ليشكل مع نادي أعضاء هيئة التدريس وسكن الضيافة ساحة عامة ونقطة وصول محورية على أطرف القسيمة رقم (606). تتكون الواجهة الخارجية للمبنى من طبقة من الحجر الجيري ذات نوافذ وجدران زجاجية بمداخل المبنى الرئيسية مع زخارف بمنطقة الاستقبال في المبنى وحوائط من التراكوتا في شرفة المبنى بمنطقة تناول الطعام.


سكن الضيافة

1) الموقع

يشغل مبنى سكن الضيافة القسيمة رقم (606) بالجهة الغربية من الحرم الطبي على مساحة إجمالية تبلغ 189,478 متراً مربعاً.

1) عام

يخدم سكن الضيافة الجديد كل من سكن هيئة التدريس والجامعة، حيث يضم 30 جناح ضيافة تقع جميعها في مجمع سكن أعضاء هيئة التدريس، ليتيح للضيوف سهولة الوصول إلى كافة مرافق نادي أعضاء هيئة التدريس، ويتكون المبنى من ثلاثة أدوار علوية فضلاً عن طابق سفلي مرتفع للخدمات الميكانيكية.

تبلغ مساحة المباني الإجمالية 4,440 متراً مربعا.

2) تصميم وشكل المبنى

يأتي سكن الضيافة كجزء متمم ومكمل لجمعية وسكن أعضاء هيئة التدريس حيث تتوسط ساحة عامة المنطقة الواقعة بيه وبين مع مبنى جمعية أعضاء هيئة التدريس ونادي أعضاء هيئة التدريس، هذه الساحة تمثل نقطة الوصول في الجهة الغربية من القسيمة رقم (606).

تتكون الواجهة الخارجية للمبنى من طبقة من الحجر الجيري ونوافذ وجدران زجاجية في مداخل المبنى الرئيسية ومنطقة تناول الأطعمة مع عواكس أشعة الشمس المصنعة من الخرسانة المسلحة بالألياف الزجاجية.


مركز التسوق:

1) الموقع:

يقع المركز بمرافقه المختلفة في القسيمة رقم (606) بالجهة الغربية من الحرم الطبي على مساحة إجمالية تبلغ 189,478 متراً مربعاً.

2) عام:

يمثل مركز التسوق بوابة الدخول والاستراحة التي يمكن للمقيم أن يجد فيها مجموعة مختلفة من الوسائل الترفيهية، ومحلات البيع بالتجزئة وسوبر ماركت لتدبير احتياجاته. ويتكون المبنى من طابق واحد علوي وطابق سفلي مرتفع للخدمات.

حيث تبلغ مساحة المباني الكلية حوالي 6,575 متراً مربعاً.

3) تصميم وشكل المبنى:

يتكون مبنى مركز التسوق من جزأين منفصلين أحدهما لمحلات البيع بالتجزئة للعلامات التجارية المتنوعة والآخر للسوبر ماركت، ويربط الجزأين ساحة عامة بها العديد من العتاصر المائية والزراعة التجميلية بما يتيح مكان رائع للاسترخاء.

تتكون الواجهة الخارجية من جدران الحجر الجيري وجدران زجاجية في واجهات المحلات مع ومظلات بمنطقة الكافيهات، فضلاً عن المظلات القماشية التي تعلو منطقة الساحة العامة.

"أحد أكبر المراكز التعليمية في العالم"

العربية

Health Sciences Center Campus
November 21, 2017
Administration Facilities (ADFA)
November 26, 2017

Academic Support Facilities (ACSF)

  • Construction progress39%

Contractors

China State Construction Engineering Corporation W.L.L. and Al-Kharafi National Company

Visit website

Consultants

Dar Al-Handasa Consultants (Shair & Partners) / Perkins & Will International

Visit website

Design & Form:

Current:

The Academic Support Facilities (ACSF) Project contains the following facilities:

Men’s Students Housing
Women’s Students Housing
Administrative Staff Club
Model School/Daycare
Academic Unit
Waste Management #1 for General Waste
Waste Management #2 for Hazardous Waste
Administration and Stores
Furniture and Housing

Services Depot (Food depot, Retail depot, Mail depot)
Construction and Maintenance
Printing Press
Service Yard
Faculty Housing
Faculty Club
Faculty Association
Neighborhood Centre
Guest Housing

Men’s Student Housing (MSH) and Women’s Student Housing (WSH):

1) Location:

The MSH occupies plot number (601) and WSH plot number (602) located outside the Ring road East side with a total area of 230,337 square meters.

2) General:

The MSH and the WSH buildings will provide a total of 526 dormitory units, 304 units for Male and 222 units for Female, dining areas, Living rooms ,Study rooms, Laundry, Multipurpose room, Game rooms, Main kitchen and Administrative areas. The buildings have four floors above ground and a semi-basement for mechanical services with a surface car parking for Staffs and for Students.

The approximate built up area for MSH is 45,461 square meters and 34,003 square meters for FSH.

3) Building Design and Form:

This project consists of five separated rectangular buildings for MSH and four separated buildings for WSH distributed along an elevated terrace called the “Plinth” made from a recycled composite wood. This terrace provides a welcoming gathering space for students and gives the project a particular identity. Drop off; car circulation and parking are under the terrace with a dynamic sunlight intrusion.

The building exterior is clad with Cleft limestone and Wood, big palm trees planted in the ground floor passed thru the terrace in the first level to give shade for the seating area distributed along.


Administration Staff Club (ASC):

1) Location:

The ASC occupies plot number (225) located outside the Ring road East side with a total area of 7,845 square meters.

2) General:

The ASC building is a place of private relaxation, social gathering and physical exercise. The administration Staff and their families can relax and enjoy a number of activities including movies or lectures in the theatre, swimming in the Olympic size swimming pool, having a dinner in the Cafeteria/dining room or making exercises in the separated men’s and woman’s fitness areas. The building is organized on one floor under the Terrace (Plinth) with only one double height exercise/yoga separated area for men and women in the first floor.

The approximate built up area for ASC is 15,577 square meters.

3) Building Design and Form:

The ASC building have a rectangular form identified by the elevated terrace called “Plinth” with the palm trees intrusion. This terrace used to both protect the visitor’s circulation and their cars, as well as gardens and plantings; it is also made from recycled composite wood.

The building exterior is clad with Cleft limestone and accents of Wood around the windows. These warm materials work to enhance the unique feature of the Club.


Model School and Daycare:

1) Location:

The Model School occupies plot number (603) located outside the Ring road East side with a total area of 100,200 square meters.

2) General:

The Model school will be providing a community-based Kindergarten through 12 grade school; it will serve the university community and provide the students with a complete and varied set of modern facilities with the most technological advanced classrooms and auxiliary spaces. In addition this school will provide an ideal venue for the College of Education to explore teaching modalities and train the future teachers. The building has partial first and second level above the ground and a semi basement for the services.

The expected number of Students is 675 male and female in addition to 112 for the daycare. The approximate built up area is 54,041 square meters including the daycare.

3) Building Design and Form:

The Model School building is defined by a linear water feature separating the male and female student’s spaces. Total of seven dedicated entries and drop off are provided, each school grade for male and female students has his own entry/exit, parking, drop off and playground. The instructional spaces are distributed around central shaded courtyards allowing the intrusion of day light to the corridors and internal spaces maintaining the Privacy between sexes.

The building exterior will be made of cast in situ concrete. Pigmented concrete will be used to achieve the effect of ancient sedimentary stone with bands of colored concrete. Windows will be punched openings that are recessed into the wall to offer maximum protection and shade from the harsh sun.


Academic Units:

1) Location:

The Academic Units building occupies plot 805 located outside the Ring Road south side with a total area of 17,644 square meters.

2) General:

This building will provide offices for different department: AFAQ Newspaper (KU newspaper), Academic program units (research units for scholarly and strategic thinking), Academic publication council (administers the development and circulation of the existing KU journals), Gulf Studies Center (research facility dedicated to documenting social, political and cultural issues), Centre for Strategic and Futuristic Studies (KU tank to research and anticipate future trends in global markets).The building has five floor above the ground with a basement for storage and mechanical services.

The approximate built up area is 10,011 square meters.

3) Building Design and Form:

This building is called the “Jewel of the campus” due to its location considered as the termination of the Campus entry axis and its predominant views to the Campus. The building design illustrates a square shape with internal big Atrium open to the roof level ensuring the communication between the different building programs.

The building exterior consist of a geometrically modular and panelized GFRC solar shading system front of a Metal panels and ribbon window system at typical office areas and Glass curtain wall at the main Atrium adjacent to the exterior Plaza.


Waste Management #1 (WM1) and Waste Management #2 (WM2):

1) Location:

The Waste Management #1 occupies with another facilities plot number (803 & 804) and Waste Management #2 plot number (810) located outside the Ring Road South side with a total area of 50,183 square meters.

2) General:

The new University campus will be provided with two waste staging facilities that act as consolidation points for all waste collection across the KU Campus.WM1 includes all general waste including food and landscaping waste for composting at the campus plant nursery.WM2 will provide safe staging and dispose of hazardous and bio-hazardous wastes from the entire campus with the exception of the Medical Campus. WM#1 building will have ground floor level and one lower floor level and WM#2 will have ground floor level only.

The approximate built up area for WM1 is 5,999 square meters and WM2 is 1,283 square meters.

3) Building Design and Form:

Building containing numerous blocks distributed in a wavy way as a chain with a wavy roof level with punched windows distributed at different levels in the facades.

The building exterior consists of light color precast concrete with grooves toward the Campus side and Metal panel toward the loading and unloading area (south side).


Administration and Stores- Furniture and Housing-Construction and Maintenance- Retail Depot-Food Depot-Mail Depot-Service Yard-Printing Press:

1) Location:

The Administration and Stores-Furniture and Housing- Construction and Maintenance-Retail Depot-Food depot-Mail Depot-Service Yard-Printing Press, occupy with the Waste Management One and Two, plots (803, 804, 807,808,809 and 810) located outside the Ring Road South side with a total area of 81,193 square meters.

2) General:

Administration and Stores: Enable efficient processing, tracking, and distribution of the KU Campus daily supply requirements, the general stores provides central location for administration and warehousing items.

Furniture and Housing: Enable efficient repair, refurbishing and management of furniture across KU Campus.

Construction and Maintenance: Enable efficient repair and maintenance of the entire KU campus building including Mechanical system.

Food Depot: Facilitates the vendor and cafeteria supply requirements, offering a central location for the delivery and staging of the campus food items.

Mail depot: Facilitates efficient screening, processing and distribution of mail from outside as well as inside the campus, will be responsible for all mail items entering and leaving the KU campus with the exception of the student mail.

Service Yard: Will provide parking for the KU vehicle fleet.

Printing Press: This facility will be able to publish all the University promotional materials as well the Academic Publication Council Journals. This facility is located adjacent to the Academic Units building which will serve as a learning environment for students of mass media.

The building has ground floor plus mezzanine level for the Administrative areas. The approximate built up area is 53,686 square meters.

3) Building Design and Form:

The above program is distributed over two separated buildings identical in design, containing numerous blocks distributed in a wavy way as a chain with a wavy roof level with punched windows distributed at different levels in the facades.

The building exterior consists of light color precast concrete with grooves.


Faculty Housing:

1) Location:

The Faculty Housing occupies plot (606) in the West side of the Medical Campus with a total area of 189,478 square meters.

2) General:

KU will be developing a new community of Faculty residences which will house the faculty of the university along with their families and domestic staff in a mix of two, three and four bedroom apartments. The total community will comprise of 620 apartments distributed over 29 buildings having five to seven floor levels, a semi basement floor is also provided for services.

The approximate built up area is 253,758 square meters.

3) Building Design and Form:

Each residential building enjoys a unique Islamic courtyard that function as a connector and casual gathering space for individual dwellings and their neighbors. The largest open space is the main central park located in the heart of the site. The apartment design consists of a duplex unit having the living space, kitchen and services room in the lower level and the bedrooms in the upper level.

The building exterior is clad with modular Fiber C panels with wood trim and glass railing for the balconies, glass curtain wall at the main entries, Terracotta walls at the exterior stairs facing the courtyard and tensile fabric shading at the roof terraces.


Faculty Club:

1) Location:

The Faculty Club with other facilities occupies plot (606) in the West side of the Medical Campus with a total area of 189,478 square meters.

2) General:

The Faculty Club is intended to provide a full complement of amenities to support the KU faculty and their families. This Club will provide a social and cultural hub at the center of the Faculty Housing. Both indoor and outdoor event spaces are to be provided for entertainment and relaxation, including dining venues, multi-purpose rooms, fitness rooms, tennis courts, swimming pools, basketball courts and landscaped grounds. The building will have a lower ground level and two floors above the ground level.

The approximate built up area is 13,504 square meters.

3) Building Design and Form:

As the western termination point of the complex it serves as a frame for the faculty enclave, there were two separate faces, one being social, and the other athletic. Similar to the logic of the rest of the faculty housing campus, two interlocking bars were used to help bind it contextually within the neighborhood.

The building exterior has geometric precast concrete panels with Limestone veneer and ornamental lighting at panel’s openings, ornamental GFRC screens, curtain wall system at the primary building entries and tensile fabric solar screen at the pool area.


Faculty Association:

1) Location:

The Faculty Association with other facilities occupies plot (606) in the West side of the Medical Campus with a total area of 189,478 square meters.

2) General:

The Faculty Association building will be a permanent home for the faculty representatives and their working committees. This facility will provide new expanded office accommodations as well as a variety of meeting rooms, diwanya, dining and reception rooms. The building will have three floors above the ground and semi basement for the mechanical services.

The approximate built up area is 3,770 square meters.

3) Building Design and Form:

The Faculty Club, Faculty Association and the Guest Housing complete a complex that frames the end of the western tip of plot 606. Similar to the Guest housing, one bar is housing all the program and form with the faculty club and the guest housing a public plaza and a focal arrival point at the end of plot 606.

The building exterior consists of Limestone wall system with glazed openings, glass curtain wall system at the main building entries with an ornamental frit pattern at the building reception area and terracotta plank wall system at building terrace dining area.


Guest Housing:

1) Location:

The Guest Housing with other facilities occupies plot (606) in the West side of the Medical Campus with a total area of 189,478 square meters.

2) General:

The new Guest Housing will serve as an amenity to both faculty housing and neighborhood and that faculty visiting as guest of the university. This facility will have 30 guest suites placed within the overall faculty housing community and will provide the guest easy access to the amenities of the faculty club. The building will have three floors level above the ground with a semi basement for the mechanical services.

The approximate built up area is 4,440 square meters.

3) Building Design and Form:

The Guest Housing and Faculty association massing is a direct response of the faculty housing interlocking. It has one bar building which form with the faculty association bar and the faculty club a public plaza, which creates an arrival point in the western end of plot 606.

The building exterior consists of Limestone wall system with glazed openings, glass curtain wall system at the main building entries and dining area with an ornamental GFRC screens and Solar shading .


Neighborhood Center:

1) Location:

The Neighborhood Center with other facilities occupies plot (606) in the West side of the Medical Campus with a total area of 189,478 square meters.

2) General:

Neighborhood center acts as a gateway and as a vibrant rest stop in which the resident can find variously of entertainment and retail stores and supermarket for their convenience.

The building will have one level above the ground and a semi basement for the services. The approximate built up area is 6,575 square meters.

3) Building Design and Form:

The Neighborhood building is conceived as two separate programs massing, one housing the retail spaces of diverse brands and the other housing the supermarket. Connecting the two programs is a public plaza filled with water features and planted vegetation that is shaded by a large overhead canopy, creating a pleasant place of relaxation.

The building exterior consists of Limestone wall system with glass curtain wall system at storefronts with integrated louvers at the café location and tensile fabric shading structure at the public plaza.

"One of the largest educational campuses in the world."

English